Water and lawns . . .

May 8, 2006

I’ve been out walking around in my lawn barefoot. I love to walk around barefoot and with the advent of spring, the barefoot experience is awesome. The long grass is cool to my feet, soft to walk on and I don’t tire of it. Yet, today I’m out watering the lawn and no, I don’t have a sprinkler system. I have neglected my lawn for a number of years and my wife has finally gotten to my “it could look better” ideals. So here I am, living in an area where we exceed 40 inches in rain a year, watering the lawn and living in a house with toilets that only use 1.6 gpf (gallons per flush – for you less initiated). I figure once I get the lawn in and established properly with a good solid base my watering days are over. Maybe, but we do get droughts in the midwest – you know 4 to 6 weeks.

just mowed lawn

Growing up in the midwest I never saw anyone water their lawn. Why would you, it is just going to rain. But then we were brainwashed into believing that California looking lawns were beautiful. Who did this brainwashing. I don’t remember in the 1950s, 60s, or 70s seeing any lawn fertilizer companies going up and down the streets – or any little flags in front of houses indicating the lawn had been fertilized. Sure, golf courses always looked great, but parks, lawns, and neighborhoods had dandelions. I do remember my grandmother digging out those pesky weeds. I guess the brainwashing notion may have to wait for another post.

In a way I’ve always envied my western family members. Not because they have to water their lawn, but if they decide they don’t want something to grow, they just don’t water it. But no, not where we get 40+ inches of rain. If we leave a spot alone it will grow everything and none of it will look good. For years we planted a small garden, trying to do our part for a more environmentally friendly neighborhood. We felt like we needed to do that. Then we would be gone for a month and come home to the biggest weed patch ever. We finally decided that planting was okay, but harvesting wasn’t all that it was made up to be. Now, we just run down to the farmers market or Walmart and purchase what we need.

Got to go, time to change the water! I hope this grass grows soon!!!!

Leave a Reply

