Knowledge and Understanding

February 25, 2006

I’m just going to start this posting and add to it a bit later on. I’ve got a busy schedule today, having gotten up at 4:15 am to get my wife to the airport. The importance of visiting grandchildren cannot be underestimated. But that’s not the purpose of this post.

Some couple of years ago a colleague and I wrote an article on the urban forest and developed a model of how knowledge and understanding influence the urban forest. We showed that knowledge was a precursor to understanding, but in the case of public administrators, we also discovered that knowledge and understanding were not essential to making decisions that impact the urban forest. While that was not a surprise to us, we had not bothered to document it before.

Taking the same line of reasoning I was pondering this morning while driving to the airport – of course that was 7 hours ago and I’m not sure where the whole thing fits, but as I have gone back and reconstructed my thoughts I’ve decided that just maybe what I was thinking about was blogging. If anything in the short time I’ve been blogging (and I do have other blogs – just look at those in the menu bar to the right) I’ve learned a lot. I stated with a knowledge of what others were doing and saying. I observed many different structures and approaches to blogging. Some are wholly sales pitches, such as Tom Peters, while others are primarily focused on providing knowledge – 43 folders. Yet others focus on opinion (Confessions of a Real Estate Loser) and others are a mix. I’ve watched some go from clear simplicity to very complex – or more appropriately cluttered. I was struck by that directly when my daughter-in-law started her web page and moved directly to simplicity. I had already been moving in that direction, but was encourage by how clean and simple her blog was. I’m not sure this blog meets that criteria, but I was moved by her approach and created a new web page titled Dan’s Musings. Since it is in a site where I will not blog, but will link to this blog you can see why I titled it Dan’s Musings: the blog.

So yes, life is about gaining knowledge and learning. I love to do both and to share them. Of course I don’t always have the time, but I’m working at it.

Leave a Reply

